AS IF….Part II


  • As if I wasn’t gonna be happy for you, and wish you luck.
  • Only you chose the biggest knife in your kitchen, and through my back you struck.
  • It’s not that you don’t have the right to move on, but it’s the not knowing why someone you always admired and had high hopes for – suddenly decides you don’t fit to be friends anymore.
  • As if we were promised eternal happiness
  • But since I valued your friendship the most, I never thought to hurt your feelings.
  • Even if I had some feelings for you, I wouldn’t risk dropping the “L” word on you unless I am sure.
  • I simply couldn’t afford to lose you over such word, it scares me the most.
  • Yet I asked myself again if they were real, but being friends with you was real enough for me.
  • Sadly as it may seem, clichéd as it may sound.
  • But no one throws an age old friendship on the ground.
  • Yet I hoped to celebrate our 1st decade of friendship together.
  • Clichéd again as it may sounds, but it was you who were nowhere to be found.
  • I never wanted any of this, I never asked you for anything.
  • You ran away forever and left me in emotional undress.
  • But I will not linger to your shadow anymore, friends or not, you only get what you deserve.
  • Ah, yes, but as the philosopher Jagger once said, ‘You can’t always get what you want.
  • So you can go and live in your eternal paradise,
  • And  rest assured honey, I won’t be living in hell either.
  •  
